And, I went live…kinda.

Something I’ve always wanted to do but never had the nerve to is play my guitar and sing to someone…one on one. I’ve played in front of hundreds while in a band. No sweat. But playing one-on-one is nerve-wrecking! It is so intimate and vulnerable, (and Lord knows, I can sing…um…not really).  Anyhow, the one thing I’ve always wanted to do is feel comfortable and safe enough to play for someone…

I can’t say that I’ve done that, to date. However, I’m getting closer. Fuck ups and all; I sent my girlfriend half of a cover. Only half – and definitely fuck ups all up in there. But I did it. And I was scared to send it, but a big part of me wanted to send it to her so badly…and this is the safest I’ve ever felt. And so, though it scared me to death…I sent it.

I was ridiculously surprised by her reaction. The little bit that I sent (with various errors) moved her. I don’t think it was any sort of “beauty” in the video itself, but maybe the fact that I was vulnerable in doing so? I’m not really sure what it was, but I’m beyond happy that I made her happy and proud of myself in sending it.

Hopefully, one day in the near future, I’ll be able to give her a bathroom concert. 🙂

Say – John Mayer

Take all of your wasted honor
Every little past frustration
Take all of your so-called problems
Better put ‘em in quotations

Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say

Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say

Walking like a one man army
Fighting with the shadows in your head
Living out the same old moment
Knowing you’d be better off instead
If you could only

Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say

Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say
Say what you need to say

Have no fear for giving in
Have no fear for giving over
You better know that in the end
It’s better to say too much
Than never to say what you need to say

Even if your hands are shaking
And your faith is broken
Even as your eyes are closing
Do it with a heart wide open

One thought on “And, I went live…kinda.

Leave a Reply

